Anna Lavin, Sagewood Elementary Principal, Named 2023 Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership Recipient

Sagewood Elementary’s Principal, Anna Lavin, has been honored with the prestigious Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership. 
Principal Lavin started her career with the Natrona County School District as an elementary educator, followed by serving as the Assistant Principal at Mountain View Elementary. In 2016, she became the Principal of Mountain View Elementary. She began her leadership journey at Sagewood Elementary in 2018, where she continues to lead and serve today. Recognized for her exceptional leadership and commitment to educational excellence, Principal Lavin is an outstanding leader in the field of education who has demonstrated extraordinary dedication, innovation, and positive impact within her school community. 
Through her collaborative leadership style, focus on individual growth and high expectations, and school-wide engagement, Principal Lavin inspires students and staff to reach new heights of success. Her passion and commitment to fostering a supportive learning environment has not only shaped the lives of her students but has supported an increase in student achievement and academic excellence. 

"We are immensely proud of Principal Lavin for being a recipient of this prestigious award," said Superintendent-Elect Angela Hensley. "Her leadership exemplifies the qualities of a servant leader, and her dedication to student growth, achievement, and success is truly inspiring."

Under Principal Lavin’s leadership, Sagewood Elementary fosters strong partnerships that grow and develop positive relationships between school families, staff, and students. Recognizing that true excellence goes beyond academics, Sagewood invests in establishing, maintaining, and growing positive connections between students and staff while supporting the needs of the whole child. 

At Sagewood Elementary, collaborative work in academics and Social Emotional Learning are at the forefront of their commitment to academic excellence for all students. Sagewood encourages active participation from school families in their child's education, thereby supporting the educational journey as a shared endeavor to maximize each student's potential.  Through community partnerships and school-wide activities, Sagewood provides opportunities to build upon leadership, community service, and teamwork so students evolve into confident, compassionate, and socially responsible individuals.
Congratulations, Principal Lavin, on this exceptional recognition of your inspiring leadership!



Please See the Below Release from the U.S. Department of Education


U.S. Department of Education 
Office of Communications & Outreach, Press Office 
400 Maryland Ave., S.W. 
Washington, D.C. 20202 
Oct. 16, 2023 
Press Office (202) 401-1576 or [email protected] 
U.S. Secretary of Education Announces Recipients of the 2023 Terrel H. Bell Awards for Outstanding School Leadership 
WASHINGTON, D.C.—U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel A. Cardona today announced the recipients of the Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership for 2023. All nine school leaders from the 2023 cohort of National Blue Ribbon Schools will be honored during the National Blue Ribbon Schools awards ceremony on Thursday, Nov. 16, 2023. 
“Great principals play a pivotal role in building thriving school communities and empowering teachers to meet the diverse needs of every student,” stated U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona. “As recipients of the Terrel H. Bell Award, you have served as catalysts, fostering positive school cultures, and finding new ways to engage students, parents, families, educators, and staff. You continue to Raise the Bar as school leaders, and your dedication inspires others to bring their best each day. The prestigious Bell Award is our way of recognizing and celebrating your hard work and indispensable leadership.” 
Named for the second U. S. Secretary of Education, Terrel H. Bell, the Bell Award honors school leaders who are committed to education as a powerful and liberating force in people’s lives. The award is part of the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program. Principals are nominated by their school communities during the final stages of the National Blue Ribbon Schools application process. 
The U.S. Department of Education, together with the National Association of Elementary School Principals, the Association for Middle Level Education, and the National Association of Secondary School Principals, present the Bell Awards to principals of National Blue Ribbon Schools for their outstanding work and the vital role they play in guiding their students and schools to excellence, frequently under challenging circumstances. 
The 2023 recipients are: 





CA - Hacienda Heights 

Dr. Danielle M. Kenfield 

Glen A. Wilson High School  


CA - Hacienda Heights 

Dr. Paulina Cho 

Wedgeworth Elementary School 

FL - Hollywood 

Ms. Johna Rae Giordano 


Hollywood Academy of Arts & Science 

IL - South Beloit 

Mr. Kevin Finnegan 


Prairie Hill Elementary School 

KY - Louisville 

Ms. Amy B. Sample 



Saint Xavier High School 

PA - Exton 

Sister Teresa Ballisty, IHM 


Saints Philip and James Elementary School 


TX - Houston 

Mr. Frank Ward, Jr. 

Nitsch Elementary School 


WI - Brookfield 

Mr. Andrew T. Farley 


Brookfield East High School  


WY - Casper 

Mrs. Anna Lavin 


Sagewood Elementary School 



Visit the website to learn more about the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program and the Terrel H. Bell Awardees.